2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1996,'97, '98
Reviews of our family friendly gites in 2012
La Grange du Moulin
near Saint Jean d'Angely
''This was our second visit to La Grange du Moulin and the very first time we have ever returned to the same place on
holiday.  We had a wonderful time the first time but this second time was even better. When we arrived everything was
even nicer than I remembered it being - we had such a lovely warm welcome from Chris and Wendy and we knew straight
away we had done the right thing returning.  It just ticks all the boxes (I think I may have stolen that phrase from another
family who are also big fans of Grange du Moulin and with whom we have made firm friends!). Beautiful scenery, lots of
friends for our 4 year old daughter to make (I think she may have counted 19 over the course of 2 weeks), a safe
environment for them to have a real sense of freedom and exploration, exciting activities for her to do and a wonderful
slow pace of life for us to enjoy. With the option of course of some great day trips to roman ruins, the beach, zoos, boat
trips and more.  Our daughter had an amazing time - it is just the perfect place for children to really be children and make
amazing memories for a lifetime - just one of them being a torch-lit mini-beast hunt around the garden. One of our
favourite things is sitting out in the evening relaxing with a glass of wine chatting to other parents. This year we
discovered the wonders of the night sky as there is so little light pollution it is like a planetarium on your door step - Chris
promised us we would see 3 shooting stars in five minutes if we went to the back of the gites and he was absolutely right -
it actually took my breath away it was so beautiful.  On the way to La Grange du Moulin we had been discussing how we
really should do something different next year and how we wouldn't be one of the many families that return year after
year - on day 2 of the holiday I looked at my husband and said 'we're  coming back next year aren't we' and we'd booked
again by the time we left. What greater testimonial is there -  simply wonderful. Thank you from the Dewey Family.''
(great sandpit, large garden with great hiding places) the organised Teddy bears picnic, pottery and t-shirt paintings and fabulous swimming pools.We also
loved the chance to taste local wines and produce at the tast du terroir evening and meet other guests via the sociable weekly bbq's. We found highly enjoyale
activities across the region including a beautiful beachon the Ile de Oleron, the ampitheatre at Saintes, La Rochelle aquarium, the zoo and the boats at St
savinien. We also discovered excellent playgrounds in St Jean, Cognac and at a lake nr Angouleme. The small, but perfect market in Aulnay was child friendly
and the visiting butcher on Weds afternoon enabled us to try far superior food that we otherwise would not of had. We have all had a truly enjoyable and
relaxing time and I look forward to trying out the moules mariniere recipe as taught by Chris, back home. Thank you.
  
Robertson family review of La Grange du Moulin, Ruche gite, July 2012 - children aged 4 & 2 yrs & 8mth old baby
We all thoroughly enjoyed our 2 wk stay at La Grange du Moulin. The children loved playing with all their new friends - from hide and seek to pirate games -
hours of fun was had in the garden. We particularly enjoyed the social aspect of being in a gite cluster (and drank too much and had too many late nights as a
result) It was great for the children to want to go and play in the garden as soon as they were awake and for us to know that everything was 100% child
friendly. Wendy and Chris really had thought of everything (an extra duvet to use as a play mat for our 8mth old !) Missed out on the t-shirt painting due to
lack of planning (but it looked fun) teddy bears picnic was lovely and Wendys puddings at the weekly bbq were not only unexpected but DELICIOUS !
Little family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, July 2012 - children aged 8, 6 and 4yrs
We have had a fantastic family holiday at La Grange du Moulin. Our children have loved spending their days here, swimming, playing in the gardenand making
new friends. It is a haven of relaxation here - knowing the children are safe and happy means that you can relax too. The weekly seafood bbq was great fun and
we have enjoyed socialising with the other families staying here too. I read a book in 3 days - where else could you do that with 3 young children ?! All in all a
fabulous set up !
Hamilton family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, July 2012 - child aged 3 yrs
Our 3rd year in a row at La Grange du Moulin and we've had another two fantastic weeks. In fact we are about to re book for next summer already as we
couldn't think of a better place to stay that has something for everyone - Wendy and Chris, thank you so much for your hospitality as always !
Some highlights - a day trip to the Ile de Ré, beautiful island and great for cycling; minature boats at St Savinien; lunch in Cognac at La Courtine (thanks to
Wendy for providing the mini creche service !); seafood evening at La Grange du Moulin - great fun !  
Aiken family review of La Grange du Moulin, Fleurie gite, August 2012 - child aged 2 yrs
This is our first holiday abroad with our daughter. We booked La Grange du Moulin as the web site made it sound like the perfect place for a family break and
indeed it has been. We have spent sunny days in the garden and pool and a very rainy day at the impressive zoo at La Palmyre. We have participated in
pottery painting (both for my daughter and myself) taken part in a treasure hunt, teddy bears picnic and group bbq; all a lot of fun !
Will we be back ? I do hope so !
Grimes family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, September 2012 - children aged 4 and 2 yrs and 4mth old
This is the second time staying at La Grange du Moulin and yet again we all had a fantastic time. This time we stayed for 2wks giving us (the adults) time to
unwind and the kids plenty of time to enjoy the numerous activities on site. Perfect for pre schoolers,  they made plenty of friends and we got to relax in the
evenings making friends with the like minded parents staying in the surrounding gites. Great location to stay for seeing fab sites and activities, markets, zoo,
caves, La Rochelle and surrounding islands.
Ager and Pye families review of La Grange du Moulin, Peche gite, August 2012 - children aged 6,6,3 and 3 years
Another great family holiday at La Grange du Moulin ! All the children particularly enjoyed the pottery painting this year and the scuba diving. As usual the ease
of having everything provided on site made it enjoyable and very relaxing for the adults. This year was particularly relaxing for us as the children were that bit
more independent allowing us time to socialise and play table tennis competitions ! Trips we enjoyed were the tourist train in Cognac, le petit train Ile de Oleron
which takes you to a beautiful beach, the boats at Saint savinien. We also were looking forward to the great seafood bbq organised by Chris and wendy and it
did not disappoint, a great evening ! Thanks again for a lovely holiday.
Sinnett family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, June 2012 - children 4 and 2 yrs
A second fortnight at La Grange du Moulin. Loved the pottery and t-shirt painting and both pools were used daily ! The boys love the relaxed 'freedom' in the
garden and playing with the other children. A great holiday for us all. Thanks again.
Kane family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, June 2012 - children aged 4 yrs and 13mths
We had a great 2 wks at La Grange du Moulin with our boys. They loved the garden, particularly the toddler pool and my youngest spent some serious time in
the sandpit, I just wished he hadn't eaten quite so much of it ! We found plenty to do in the local area, historic towns, markets, zoo, aquarium, a boat trip on the
marais poitevin and the usual fabulous french food - especially seafood. We also developed quite a taste for the local Pineau. Our 4 yr old really enjoyed having
play mates next door too - it made our job as entertainers so much easier. Thank you Chris and Wendy
Carus family review of La Grange du Moulin, Fleurie gite, July 2012 - child aged 21mths
We had a lovely week, wish we were staying for longer. A really easy place to be with a toddler. Our son couldn't wait to get his shoes on every morning to go
and play outside. He loved running around in the garden and playing on the digger or bouncing on the trampoline. The area has some great days out - the
market at St Jean and Fouras beach with its little paddling pool were highlights for us. The gite is homely and well equipped and I loved pottering in the kitchen.
Thanks for a great week - definitely hope to come back.  
Oscroft family review of La Grange du Moulin, Ruche and Grenier gites, July 2012 - child aged 4yrs
From the first day we relaxed straight into our holiday; our 4 yr old was straight out into the garden making lots of friends. The set up is just so family friendly.
Wendy and Chris you are amazing hosts and it's clear to see how important it is to you that your guests have an enjoyable time - nothing seems too much
trouble. Hope to see you next year and thanks for a lovely holiday.
Peacock family review of La Grange du Moulin, Fleurie gite, July 2012 - children aged 7 yrs and 4 yrs
Thank you for a lovely stay, the set up is completely perfect for children under 8yrs. Our children have had a great time and we have thoroughly enjoyed how
independent they have been here ! The area has loads to offer, we didn't get to do nearly enough of what we wanted to do as we were so happy at the pool.
We will definitely be coming back and we will certainly be telling friends of this unique family friendly find. The bbq last night was a real treat too Thank you !
Hilton family review of La Grange du Moulin, Horloge gite, July 2012 - child  aged 19mths  
create a very sociable atmosphere through activities like the bbq and Teddy bears picnic. This meant a relaxed and happy 2wks where we spent a lot of time
with other mums and dads and our son with the other children
Martyn family review of La Grange du Moulin, Fleurie gite, June 2012 - child aged 1yr
We have had one of the most relaxing holidays I can remember having. Within hours of arriving we felt very at home. Our son has absolutely loved the garden
and all the toys and we feel we've seen him developing before our eyes during our visit. The teddy bears picnic was a real highlight for him. Wendy and Chris
put a lot of effort into making sure everyone has a good time and their boys played tirelessly with our son and even baked us delicious cakes ! Never thought a
holiday with a toddler could be so relaxing.  
Butcher family review of La Grange du Moulin, Horloge gite, June 2012 - children aged 4 and 2 yrs
We stayed with our two boys and had a fantastic time. Wendy and Chris are great hosts. We particularly enjoyed the seafood bbq and the boys loved the
t-shirt painting. Wendy was exceptionally helpful in advising us how to deal with a couple of minor medical emergencies. We would definitely stay here again.
Wilson family review of La Grange du Moulin, Ruche gite, August 2012 - children aged 8, 6 and 3 yrs
Second time staying at La Grange du Moulin and we had a great time once again. The enclosed garden and separate pool are ideal for children and whilst